About Singapore

Singapore is a sovereign Southeast Asian state.

For the past 700 years at least, Singapore has been home to a wide range of communities.

In 1819, Sir Stamford Raffles established a British colonial presence in Singapore. Singapore remained under British rule as part of British 'Malaya' until 1942, when the Japanese invaded the island during World War II. Following the defeat of the Japanese in 1945, the British continued governing Singapore until the island city was granted self-governance in 1959. In 1963, Singapore briefly became part of the Federation of Malaysia before gaining full independence in 1965.

Singapore is a multicultural nation-state, with longstanding Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian communities.

See the video below to find out more about Singapore: